a nice day out

Standard
MLM and I had a day out today. We’ve been so busy with house, and work, and life, that we just haven’t had the time to spend a day together, just having fun.

We started with breakfast a diner in a nearby village. A one horse town where you park your tractor on the main street while you shop.

We headed onto Presqu’ile, one of Ontario’s many provincial parks. Here are some collages of pictures we took at the park.

First of all is the marsh boardwalk. That was very restful and soothing. I doubt it will be in a few weeks once the mosquitoes and blackfly are in full force. It’s still bein built, the Timmie’s can holds paint. That picture with the Timmie’s can seems very Canadian to me.

Next we went to the lighthouse. A small but important building on the edge of the peninsula. There have been a fair few shipwrecks of these shores. It was invigorating to sit by the lake and listen to the waves. BTW why are the great lakes called lakes and not seas?? It can’t be because they are freshwater as there are other freshwater seas, the Caspian for instance. Does anyone know?

Our last stop was at one of the beaches. There was a cold wind from the lake but still lovely and warm. The mist effect you can see is the icy cold water evaporating as mist in the warm sun.

Three styles of collage there. Any preference?

4 responses »

  1. Awww, how nice, Mog. 🙂

    No idea about lakes and seas but I do know that on the west coast we call the water the ocean not the sea… we go spend a day at the ocean. Hearing, ‘we went to the sea today’ when I lived in England sounded odd to me at first. I guess cos the water here, locally, is the Pacific Ocean, there are no seas. But, in England the water was the North Sea so it made sense to go spend the day by the sea… which I did, often. This is entirely not answering your question about lakes and seas. No idea!

    I like the last collage best… but I’m frustrated by the small pics. I see some very arty shots that would be great to see bigger. You tease. 😉

  2. Hi Toastie,
    The collages are easy in Picasa. Though if I told you this then you would go off and do them better, so I won’t tell you.

    I looked up “Sea” and “Ocean”. As you said we don’t say ocean in Britain, we go to the seaside, or spend a day by the sea. As an island people, we are “seagoing” “seafaring” and have “sea shanties”, sailors have “sea legs” and when sailing are “at sea”. Never ocean. Not even down in Cornwall and Devon when the water is the Atlantic. We still would go for a swim in the sea, or even a paddle! (he he)

    Various definitions from online dictionaries say that a sea is
    a. A tract of water within an ocean.
    b. A relatively large body of salt water completely or partially enclosed by land.
    c. A relatively large landlocked body of fresh water.
    d. a body of salt water of second rank more or less landlocked
    e. an inland body of water.

    I looked up “ocean”
    a)the whole body of the salt water which covers a large part of the globe
    b. Any of the principal divisions of this body of water, including the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, and Arctic Oceans.

    And then I found this:
    Sailors have long referred to all the world’s waters as the seven seas. Although the origin of this phrase is not known for certain, many people believe it referred to the Red Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, the Persian Gulf, the Black Sea, the Adriatic Sea, the Caspian Sea, and the Indian Ocean, which were the waters of primary interest to Europeans before Columbus.

    So it’s old world stuff. I am old world, you are new world. 😉

    This old world woman wants to rename Lake Ontario the Ontario Sea. Why? Well,when were were kids and going to the seaside it was very exciting to see the sea, the first one to see it shouted out “I can see the sea!”. Maybe you had to be there. Anyway, I tried this yesterday but MLM wouldn’t let me be the winner as it wasn’t the sea, and “I can see the Great Lake” isn’t quite the same.

    When I am driving around here I feel very uplifted when I see Lake Ontario on the horizon, it gives me that same feeling of joy that I had as a child going on holiday to the seaside.

    This should have been an entire post really…

  3. I remember, from when I was a kid there that Lake Ontario was once know as Lake Scanadario or something like that.

    Scanadario Sea sounds very nice…. you could build a villa on its coast… and sit in the shade of the olive tree in your seaside garden, sipping gin and tonics, watching your tanned, brawny and shirtless cabin boy attend to your a fine boat that’s moored at the dock…

Leave a Reply

