so here’s the cunning plan

Standard

This lovely basket and assorted gifts was given to me today at work. Books to read, bath salts, lotions and potions, smelly candles, some crayons for sketching, gardening gloves, wine, trowels and gardening fork, a nightlight, a hair piece thing for the bald patch and a Canada Day silly hat. I’ve never had a basket of gifts before, it’s quite wonderful and a lovely, lovely, gesture. Thank you everyone.

So, back to the cunning plan.

Surgery is at 12:15 and we need to be at the hospital by 10:45am. We will be staying over the night before with two fabulous friends who live near the hospital. Naming no names but you may know who they are, 😉

Surgery is bound to be late starting, so maybe 1pm- 2pm? The 2-3 hours of surgery, some time to wake up, etc etc. I think I won’t be sitting up and complaining until 6pm. Maybe they will find a bed for me after all. If not, then it’s back round to those fabulous friends. They don’t seem to mind having a shaven and stapled headed woman with a wound drain in their midst. I hope I don’t put them off their dinner. If I do stay in hospital then MLM will stay with them and have some pleasant company instead of having to sit in a hotel room.

The next day will be back to the hospital for drain removal and then home again by the afternoon.

Between now and Sunday I have two evening shifts and on call to work, plus tidying up the house and shopping to do. MLM has gardening chores and such like.

13 responses »

  1. What a wonderful care package! 🙂

    It sounds like everything is all organised and ready to go. Ahhhh! I'm so excited for you, Mog!

    What you've been through to get to this point and how you've dealt with it all is very inspiring. You are one courageous woman!

  2. …..blushing……

    No,not inspiring, I just do what needs to be done. Often not very well either. But thank you for saying such a nice thing.

  3. Whoohoo – how exciting 🙂 I'll be thikig of you. And the care package was really thoughtful – esspecially that hairpiece lol

  4. Thanks for sharing your plan. Will be thinking of you on Monday!
    I agree with Ms. Toast Burner you are courageous and I wish you the very best with your recovery!!!

  5. "I just do what needs to be done."

    Exactly… that's why you're inspiring. Sometimes doing what needs to be done is the hardest thing to do.

  6. It is interesting how different centers and even different surgeons vary. You're getting the same implant as me but my experience was no shaved hair, no staples just glue and dissolvable stitches, no drain, a soft bandage to wear for 4 days and activated after 5 days.

    You'll do great! 🙂

  7. Hope all goes well for you!

    I look forward to hearing all about how you find the world after your assimilation!

    Teen

  8. Thank you all for your good wishes. I'm getting a little nervous now!

    Toastie, my family has a strong sense of right and wrong, and "doing the right thing". So it's just the way I was brought up. In some respects I wish that I had made a fuss earlier and been implanted a few years ago.

    Sara, yes the different techniques are interesting. It will be even more interesting to see what I end up with!

  9. Love the hat! Found your blog today via BE and have spend an enjoyable hour reading through. All the best for the op.

Leave a Reply

