whistling spacemen

Standard

Life with the CI continues to amaze, disturb and excite me.

I have two programs, maps, on the CI that I am experimenting with, along with volume control and another switch for either “close” or “distance”listening. The first map is the one that I have been using the most. It gives the greater clarity but somehow seems quiet. The volume seems to vary too, I don’t know what this is related to, I can’t work out any trend except that it seems to do with the acoustics of the room. The second map, has a richer sound but fewer high notes and is more muffled. The high notes are still electronic of course, but seem to be becoming more natural as time passes.

I’ve been at work and noticed a great difference in how I had to work before, and now. Now I can hear beeps and buzzes and hisses. Patients arriving in the waiting room. I can join in conversations, even in the cafeteria. I’ve been training on a new bit of kit and that training was much less stressful than usual. Towards the end of the day I started to tune out, I could hear the noises but my brain had stopped listening.

People ask me all the time how I am doing, many want to know what it sounds like. I’ve googled and found this demo of changes linked to the number of channels and the depth of insertion of the electrode array. Click on the link and have a listen. It’s not what I hear, but it does give and indication of the strangeness of the noise. Another comparison is that the sound is like listening to the Clangers. This is an old British children’s TV show where creatures who live on the moon (knitted creatures BTW, did you ever knit one of them Sarah?)- anyway the creatures talk in whistles. Specifically a swanee or slide whistle. The rythym of their speech follows the rythym of spoken English so you almost feel you can understand them. Its a long clip but skip a few minutes in so you can hear the Clangers speak. The narrator also sounds a little tiny to me, maybe he is?? Sorry there are no Captions for the narrator.

Apparently Sideshow Bob in the Simpsons also used to speak with a swanee whistle, before he learned to use Kelsey Grammar’s voice, but I can’t find a video of that to post. While I was looking though I found this site which has sound files for many many musical instruments. I thought the musicians among you would be interested.

Edit: I’ve added some winter pictures to cool us down in the 30C heat. I wouldn’t want you thinking that we have snow all year round in Canada.

7 responses »

  1. Sounds like you're doing great! All these sounds that you can now hear. Hopefully it won't be too long until it's my turn – I go for my two day assessment tomorrow so here's hoping!

  2. We went doglsledding about 4 years ago. Up in Haliburton. Excellent fun. I was terrified the first 10 minutes and then it was brilliant. Tiring though as you have to get off and walk up the hills. If you don't get off the sled and walk the dogs stop and look at you as if they would eat you.

  3. Fickle, lazy dogs!

    I think being pulled around in a sled by a pack of purple buttock boys could be fun… do you get to crack a whip?

  4. No whipcracking at all. Sadly. I had imagined that dog sledding would be more Dr Zhivago and furs and troika and Omar Sharif than it was. Instead there were no furs, Marks and Spencer thermals, MLM and a flimsy looking sled.
    Purple buttocked boys would have been better. I suppose naked in the minus 20C temps they would have been purple

  5. Pingback: Wie hören Menschen mit Cochlea Implantat? « Not quite like Beethoven

Leave a Reply

