you do know how to whistle, don’t you?

Standard

You just put your lips together…. and blow.

Lauren_Bacall_and_Humphrey_Bogart_in_To_Have_and_Have_Not_Trailer

Can you whistle? If you can, well, can you hear? 

Recently Sara tweeted that she was learning to whistle and this made me laugh as I can’t whistle either. My dad spent many hours trying to teach me. I could make a little noise, and a better one breathing in – but whistling a tune or even two notes one after the other? I could never do that and the whistly noise that I did manage to make was very inconsistent.  Mind you I also had trouble with the whole notion of blowing my nose, and sneezing. I have a weird sneeze.  Anyway apart from causing my dad to giggle, my whistling career never took off.  I didn’t worry to much as my mum can’t whistle either. Mind you she’s deaf too. The men in my family whistled, obviously a manly task. 

Sara has the same CI as I do, a different electrode but otherwise we are CI twins.  She has a similar hearing loss to me too so the whistling comment piqued my interest. I tried whistling right there and then and discovered that by moving my lips slightly I could make different sounds. Without my CI of course there is no sound. 

So, I’ve been thinking that perhaps I have never heard the really high noises such as whistling, or squeaks when scraping ice from the car, or fingernails on blackboards. It’s not a problem to me, I just wondered.

9 responses »

  1. I must admit I whistle every night for the cat to come in. He ignores me and the raccoons pretend come in instead. You win; you lose!

    Thank you for sharing your story! I spotted a man in one of my CranFest videos with a CI. I was so proud of myself that I knew what it was!!!! Funnily enough, he was in front of the band concert, trying to avoid it!

  2. I like to whistle and I was pretty good at it when I was a kid. After I got my CI, I tried it again to see if I could hear it and to see if I still could. It was pretty exciting to hear that first tweet and even better I could hear and carry a tune.

  3. My Grandpa taught me to whistle. I like to whistle a tune now and then for my own entertainment.

    Now that I have hearing aids, anytime I need to whistle (to get someone’s attention) I can just cover my ears, ha ha.
    Sarah

    • You must get some volume up there Sarah! I’ve never been able to hear my whistling as well as I can now with the CI. Even with all my previous assorted aids I could only hear a tiny noise. So no need to cover my ears.

    • I think perhaps you do. I had the same problem it seems. The cat could hear but I couldn’t, and when you can’t hear you can’t refine it and become and world class concert whistler.. 😉

  4. I’ve never been able to whistle. I have a big gap in between my front teeth so the air just flows through it. It has never caused me any concern though, a the sound of whistling really annoys me. When Gee whistles at home it sets my teeth on edge, much like the ice scraper!

    • I think whistling is probably very annoying. Nice to be able to do it though I am giving it up as it wrinkles my mouth up and I want to save £££ on wrinkle creams

Leave a Reply

